Installing Free Mcboot into a PS2 Memory Card with Swap Magic

(1/2) > >>

asiandumbass:
Here is the link to the official site to install Free McBoot. Go to the installation tab and click swap magic for the official guide to installing Free Mcboot with swap magic. This method however did not work for me. The swap magic froze booting up the ulaunch. If you also experience this problem or another problem which prevents you from using this method please continue reading for my alternative method of installing free mcboot with swap magic.

(click to show/hide)
1. Fat ps2
2. usb flash drive with 4 mb free space (maybe need more or less since you can add or take out programs/elf at your own will)
3. swap magic 3.6 or 3.8 (I used 3.6 cd)
4. 1 cd-r or dvd-r (i use cd)
5. (optional but recommended) Common Knowledge on burning and computer (if you are a total newbi, do some research before you try this). I will be as simple and detailed as possible.

(click to show/hide)
1. Make sure the usb flash drive is in  Fat32 format (if it is not, format the flash drive). Any flash drive will do as long as it is recognized by the computer as a "mass storage device".

2. Download ulaunchelf 4.16 cd, extract it, and burn it out on a cd/dvd (depending on what swap magic you will be using, burn it out the same way you would burn a game out to play).

3. Download the Free McBoot Newbi Package and extract it. (we are using the newbi package because its all set up for us and has all the required stuff you need). It will contant the "free_mcboot.elf" and "install" folder

This freemcboot package comes with: (all the programs are called elfs)
ulaunch  - to manage files and launch ELFs (it is named "boot.elf" in the folder)
esr - to play burn dvd games (if you patched the game before burning it) without having to swap.
Hdloader - run games from an internal HDD (Slim users can not use this)
SMS - its a media player for the ps2
(They are located in the install folder)
(click to show/hide)